Remember, in His Word, God has:

  • Something to see – what does the text say
  • Something to understand – what does it mean
  • Something to apply – what does it mean to me
  • Something to praise – for what are you thankful?

(1) Through the Bible

Day 1: Joshua 4, 5Day 4: Josh 10, 11
Day 2: Josh 6, 7Day 5: Josh 12, 13
Day 3: Josh 8, 9Day 6: Josh 14, 15

Deuteronomy is a book of transitions: from the generation that dies in the wilderness to the next generation that would enter Canann; from a nation that dwelled in tents to one that owned land and houses; from manna to “milk and honey”; from the leadership of Moses to the leadership of Joshua. Over all of these transitions is the call to faithfully walk in covenant with their faithful God. This new generation is reminded of what the Lord has done, told of the promises God will now execute for them, and assured of what he will do in the future. In short, God is faithful to Israel; thus they should love him with all their heart, soul, and strength (6:5). The opposition to such faithfulness comes from outside (many warnings against idolatry) and inside (warnings against apathy, pride, and self-sufficiency). In the end, God is always faithful to his covenant promises!

(2) Key Passages

Day 1: Deuteronomy 6:4-12Day 4: Deut 8:11-20
Day 2: Deut 7:17-18; 3:18-22Day 5: Deut 9:1-6
Day 3: Deut 4:25-26; 11:16-17; 29:17-20Day 6: Deut 30:15-20

(3) Key Verses

Day 1: Deut 6:4Day 4: Deut 11:16-17
Day 2: Deut 6:5Day 5: Deut 6:10-12
Day 3: Deut 7:17-18Day 6: Deut 9:5